Go Garden Go

When I was a kid, I lived in a lot of places.  By far, my favorite places to that I have lived have been down a dirt road a bit past Waterford, VA and Cabin Farm, a historic farm on the outskirts of Leesburg, VA.  I love rural living.  I lived in the country and/or on a farm until I was a sophomore in high school.  At that point my mother bought a condo and I’ve been living in apartments ever since (about 12 years).

In August of last year my husband and I bought our first home, a 200o Clayton mobile home.  Follow the link to see our floor plan.  We caught some slack for this from some and were praised by some for the decision.  But I feel like we’re closer to how we want to be living.  We only lost 50 square feet from the move from our 3 bedroom 2 bath apartment to our 3 bedroom 2 bath mobile home.  We cut our living expenses in half.  We have a large shed for storage and a very large covered porch where Kirk and I have a table and chairs and the kids have one of their own.  Best of all we have a large yard and a say about what we put in that yard.  So for the first time I have a lovely garden!  For my first year of gardening I went a bit overboard.

I am growing the following:

Just two days ago I got to pick my first two zucchini of the year off the plants.  We are going to have them with dinner tomorrow night.  Abby has eaten probably a dozen strawberries that are now on their second growing season of the year and has eaten about a pint of raspberries right off the vine.

This a picture of the main garden.  Left side and clockwise around are carrots, zucchini, green beans, pumpkins, cantaloupe, cucumbers, and Indian cucumbers, and in the center are 3 varieties of tomatoes.  In the tires left to right are mint, oregano, green peppers, unknown tomatoes, big boy tomatoes, and cherry tomatoes.

Here is our peach tree.

Here are our sunflowers along the side of the shed.

Here is the front garden.  From left to right are blackberries, rosemary, strawberries, basil, and parsley.

We still have the following waiting for homes in the ground.  More basil, eggplant, and raspberries.  Here is a picture of our raspberries still in the pot.

I’ll update as things change.  Go garden go!  Yum!

About DB Landes

Dorothy loves finding creative ways to be greener and helping others take baby steps to a greener lifestyle.She has 3 kids, a red-bearded husband, backyard chickens, and a struggling garden. Find her blogging at TheCreativeRecycler.com. Take a look around and create something with her!
This entry was posted in Cool Things, Garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Go Garden Go

  1. Part of me would really love to have a garden. That would be the loving-free-organic-food part of me. The other part of me isn’t so convinced. That is the I-don’t-like-bugs-or-getting-dirty part of me. Maybe I’ll have one next year. I’ll have to wait and see which side wins.

    • DB Landes says:

      I’ll tell you what… I had a lot of plants that I gave away because I started from seed. How about next year I’ll let you know what takes minimal effort and give those to you.

Leave a Reply

