Mother’s Day – A Thank You

Due to working in retail and being a manager, I had to work open to close this Mother’s Day.  I saw my kids for maybe 1 hour total.  This SUCKED because I don’t spend as much time with them as I would like to anyway!  However I’d like to thank everyone that made my Mother’s Day a bit less painful.  My husband, Kirk, was so sweet.  He not only brought me lunch at work but he also cleaned the hallway, bathrooms, and Gabe’s room before I got home.  He got me a card and helped the kids pick one out, too.  He had my favorite ice cream waiting for me when I got home and he didn’t fuss when my mother stayed dangerously close to 10pm.  LaAnnette (my friend/store manager) bought me my favorite flowers in yellow and her mother’s favorite flowers (We both had a good cry this morning, I because I couldn’t spend the day with my youngin’s and she because her mother passes a few years ago).  Kara (coworker/friend) and her parents brought me some lovely Bob Evans treats : )  Harinder, a coworker who came in to cover busy times of the day on her Mother’s Day, and Marian, another coworker just back from college who hasn’t seen her family in months who came in to cover as well.  My family took turns watching Abby and Gabe in the morning while Kirk was at work.  Also, my mother got me an apron, an electronic doo dad, and some fake hair (I’ll post about that later) and stayed around to chat.  It was a hard day but I feel immensely loved and appreciated!

About DB Landes

Dorothy loves finding creative ways to be greener and helping others take baby steps to a greener lifestyle.She has 3 kids, a red-bearded husband, backyard chickens, and a struggling garden. Find her blogging at TheCreativeRecycler.com. Take a look around and create something with her!
This entry was posted in Family, Work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mother’s Day – A Thank You

  1. slamdunk says:

    Wow, tough day to work and happy mother’s day to you.

  2. Pingback: Flies, Kids, and Fathers Day. « Glimpsing D

Leave a Reply

